Gluten-free eating take two.

22 Oct
Cooking gluten-free shortbread cookies.

Image via Wikipedia

For those of you who read my earlier post on  Coeliac disease the results are finally in.  Apparently I do still have confirmed Coeliac disease.   When you think that I have had this all my life it shouldn’t be such a disappointment – it’s not like I don’t know what I can and can’t eat.  The trouble is, after coming off my diet for 6 weeks (in order to be retested) I have now sampled all those yummy treats that I thought I would never try.  I am of course talking about all those really fattening things that don’t do you any good anyway.  Pasties, cakes, buns, pizza – did I mention cakes?

For the six weeks that I was eating ‘normal foods’ I felt like mealtimes were so much easier in our house,  I didn’t have to cook two different types of pasta and it was so much easier to get something out of the freezer that we could all eat if I was in a rush.  Now it seems to have gone back to where cooking is a chore rather than something that should be enjoyed.

People always ask me if I had any side effects from eating all that gluten.  Well, the honest answer is no, not really.  My tummy did get very bloated but not uncomfortably so.  I didn’t get any pain and no obvious um…  tummy problems at either end!  Part of me wondered if it was worth sticking to a gluten-free diet when I wasn’t having major symptoms but after speaking to my GP and reminding myself of the long-term implications I know that it is the best thing to do.

One of the other things I will miss about being able to eat gluten is baking with my daughter.  When I wasn’t following a gluten-free diet we were baking all the time because it was so much easier.  Have you ever tried making gluten-free pastry – what a nightmare!  Of course we do still do the odd bit of baking but it’s not the same when you can’t actually eat what you’ve made.

Does anyone else follow a gluten-free diet?  Perhaps we could share some tips and recipes?

For more information of Coeliac Disease, visit the Coeliac website

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

