Birthday party dilemmas…

17 May

Princess castle cake, made by me!

Why does organising a  children’s birthday party have to be such a stressful event?  There was a time when you could just invite a few kids to your house, serve up some sausage rolls and jelly and ice cream and let them fight over the pass the parcel.  You didn’t feel that other parents were examining the quality of your prizes or checking for a range of healthy snacks on the party table.  There seems to be a lot of pressure now to hold the best party and spend the most amount of money on it.  Should we really have to worry whether each child goes home with some small prize, isn’t it still about playing the games and not about who wins?

When I was a child we used to just have a friend for tea, no party games, just a nice cake and a birthday tea that we shared with the grandparents.  I remember them being really happy occassions and I certainly don’t feel that I missed out by not having a big party.

Anyway, we managed to survive the birthday stress and I even quite enjoyed it this year.  I decided to make my own cake for Lily who was having a pirates and princesses theme.  It didn’t turn out too bad, despite me worrying that I was going to have to do a last minute dash to the supermarket to get a more suitable one!

Can’t quite believe that my little girl is 4 now,  those years have just flown by.

2 Responses to “Birthday party dilemmas…”

  1. Luschka May 20, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    What a FABULOUS cake! Well done!

  2. MayBee August 18, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Know what you mean, I am getting jtterey about my Lily’s 4th birthday. Your cake looks so fab! Mumzebo who I share our blog with posted this – http://www.parentshaped.co.uk/2010/05/competition-time-for-all-you-inspired-cake-makers/ – you are not alone!

Leave a Reply

