Amber Teething Necklaces – do they work?

29 Jun

Both of my children seem to have struggled with the whole teething experience.  Considering teething lasts for the first 2 years of their life it can seem like the sleepless nights and irritability are going to last forever!  I’ve tried everything over the years.  Teething powder worked for a very short time on Lily but I found the effects wore off quite quickly.  Teethers were no use whatsover, they would both rather bite down on a piece of furniture or some other random toy rather than use something I specifically bought for the purpose of teething!  Cold drinks and cold foods did help quite a bit but of course they can’t constantly chew on a piece of cold cucumber, not in the middle of the night anyway.

It was with some scepticism that I decided to try out an Amber Teething Necklace.  I had read about them on various natural parenting forums and they did get a positive review but I didn’t really understand how they were supposed to work.

After doing some research, I discovered that In Austria, Switzerland and Germany, you will find amber teething necklaces sold in local pharmacies.  Amber is believed to have healing properties of which include calmative, analgesic, antispasmodic, expectorant, and febrifuge (anti-fever) functions.  One theory is that wearing amber against the skins warms the amber releasing miniscule properties of oil onto the skin and into the bloodstream.  The scientific effects of amber are still being researched but did I notice any positive or negative effect on my little man?  Well, actually yes….  Thomas has had periods of irritability, drooling and general grumpiness whenever he is getting a new tooth so as he was getting his molars I decided to test the necklace out.  I found that when he was wearing the necklace he was calmer and did not need comforting nearly as often as he had done before!  Up until this point I Was hardly able to put him down when he was teething but when wearing the necklace he was quite happy (although still constantly drooling and obviously still teething)

Coincidentally, whilst testing the necklace Thomas came down with chicken pox.  I truly believe that during this time he was happier when wearing the necklace.  Of course it could all be co-incidence, I can’t prove anything… I can only tell you what we found.  I’ve hardly taken it off him since, other than at night time and I’m going to carry on putting it on him until he has a mouth full of teeth!

We ordered our necklace from www.babyteethingnecklace.co.uk who use only genuine amber (beware of cheap imitations) and all of their necklaces are individually knotted for extra safety.  Our necklace arrived the very next day and it was beautifully wrapped and came with an instruction leaflet.  The necklace we chose is really lovely and I’m quite happy with how it looks on him.  Incidentally when we were on holiday in France we saw many children there were wearing them so Thomas looked right at home!

Leave a Reply

