Well now, that was a big surprise

18 Nov

My gorgeous children

When I found out I was pregnant with my first child, I was of course over the moon . That was five years ago now and I can’t believe how much has changed since then.  I used to be a career woman, I loved my own space, loved to read and relax, liked to buy nice things. My priorities have become rather different since then.

I had an idea of the type of mummy I would be and I have to say that it was nothing like the mummy that I am.  I never thought for a minute that I would use cloth nappies on my children (let alone end up starting a business around them!), I didn’t really think I would breastfeed and I didn’t imagine for one minute that I would resign from my  job at a local hospice in order to be a stay at home mum.

When my baby arrived my grand plan went out the window.  She looked up at me for the first time, our eyes met and everything else just faded into insignificance.  I have become a different person.  Some things I think have changed for the better.  I have changed my outlook on life, I have broadened my horizons, learnt new things, met new people.   I have learnt how to love unconditionally even when exhausted through lack of sleep and sore nipples.

Some things have changed for the worse.  I have very little relaxation time, we have no money, I have less patience…  I’m not the perfect mummy that I wanted to be but then, who is? My relationships have changed. Visits with old friends are few and far between and I have made new friends through my children. I now have to share my parents with two demanding children who will always be centre of attention and that’s just as it should be.  My husband and I have very rare nights out and if we do we are usually home before 10pm.

So if anyone tells you that becoming a parent won’t change you, don’t believe a word of it.  If you do, you’ll be in for a big surprise. How has becoming a parent changed you? Or do you feel that you have not changed at all?

3 Responses to “Well now, that was a big surprise”

  1. Hazel Gaynor November 21, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Lovely post Tracy – I think becoming a parent is a huge surprise to the vast majority of us and just how much and in how many ways it changes us and our priorities for life. x

  2. MotherWifeMe November 22, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Loved this post, so many parallels with my experience. I remember telling everyone, when I was pregnant, that I would be back to work part-time when my baby reached six months, it was never my ideal, but I thought it was the way it would have to be. One look at my daughter and I knew I wasn’t going back to work. Money may be tight, my wardrobe may be depleted, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Being a mum is the most important job in the world and your post sums this up so well, good on you!

  3. andmybaby December 6, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Hi! Found this post via Hot Cross Mum. Lovely! Nothing can prepare you for it can it!? I was the same as you, I thought I’d work as my mother was a SAHM & I wanted to be different. I hadn’t even thought about breastfeeding. Now I write a blog centred around it! It’s changed me in the most enormous ways. I care more now about politics & being eco-friendly. I am more into health food. My life aims are different! Parenthood hit me like a train but I’m delighted with the way it’s made me face the real world. I’m totally with you on having no money too!!! But it matters less & less.
    Great post, thank you : )
    Áine
    andmybaby.ie

Leave a Reply

