Fairy birthday party on a budget

25 Apr

When my daughter said she would like a fairy birthday party, I have to admit I was very excited! I did go a little bit over-the-top with the planning  but it is difficult not to when you google ‘fairy party’ and find so many fantastic ideas and beautiful pictures. I mustn’t forget to mention the Disney Family site where I found instructions for making a fairy door and the BEAUTIFUL blog ‘Not my Own’ for lots of fairy inspiration.

I didn’t manage to use all of the ideas that I had, Lily’s party was at the end of a very busy Real Nappy Week and I just ran out of time.  I’m very happy with how it turned out though.

The 'party room' was decorated with balloons, organza and tissue paper pom-poms.

The tissue paper ‘pom-poms’ are really simple to make. You can find instructions on Martha Stewarts site

Papier mache Toadstools

There are lots of pretty expensive handmade wooden fairy doors on the market. They are gorgeous but you can easily make your own out of cardboard.

Apart from a few games of ‘Musical Fairy Statues’ we didn’t have many of the traditional party games, instead we decorated their goody bags with fairy stickers and glitter, decorated some butterfly biscuits and had a ‘Fairy Treasure Hunt’ We decorated their bags first so that they could use them on the treasure hunt.

The children were each given a little scroll wrapped in pink ribbon and inside were the instructions for their treasure hunt.

Then they had great fun running around the garden desperately trying to find everything. It was quite difficult trying to keep track of who had found what but we got there in the end! Here are some pictures of the Treasure Hunt and the things they were searching for.

It is serious stuff this treasure hunting...

Fairy wands were hidden all around the garden with their names on

Pine Cone Fairy. I got my inspiration for these from the lovely blog 'Paint Cut Paste'. Click on the image and it will take you through to her site.

No party is complete without Jelly Beans!

Personalised Fairy Charm by Bjewelled. Click on the link to take a look at more of Bjewelled Products

These personalised ‘Fairy Charms’ were handmade by the lovely Bryony at Bjewelled.  I think these are lovely little gifts for a goody bag and it’s nice for them to have something that they can keep to remember the party.

For the biscuit decorating, we used my favourite biscuit recipe which is so simple.  I made the biscuits the night before and we had lots of things to decorate them with. Mini marshmallows, mini smarties, sugar sprinkles and of course lots of lovely pink icing! The girls really loved doing this and I wrapped up their own biscuit to take home in their goody bag.

I ran out of time to ‘theme’ the food but we did have some lovely pink cakes, some with flower fairy toppers and some with mini marshmallows.  I used my favourite cake stand and also splashed out on these adorable flower fairy plates.

 I made the cake myself, it’s a little wonky but I think you can get away with that with a toadstool!

Happy Birthday to my big six year old girl! I love you to the moon and back.....

2 Responses to “Fairy birthday party on a budget”

  1. lucy brown April 25, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    What a fabulous fairy fiesta!!! Looks like they had a lovely time. Loving the cake too, you’re a genius Mrs D! xxxxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cubby Kit Review « Greenmumsblog - May 22, 2012

    [...] ended up with toadstools! Lily had seen a picture of these and decided she would love some for her fairy party so this was what we made.  This is the joy of the Cubby Kit though, you have all the craft [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 673 other followers

