Musings on Mothering: Book review and Special Offer

7 Dec

musings

 

I was recently sent a copy of the wonderful book ‘Musings on Mothering: About Pregnancy, Birth and Breastfeeding’ and have been asked to review this for you on here.

The book is a wonderful collection of Poetry, Sketches and Photos that have been submitted by mothers everywhere. The subject is  ‘motherhood’, from conception through to pregnancy, birth and beyond.

I initially picked up the book and read a couple of pages then left it to come back to with a cup of tea. When I did this, a week later I read the book from cover to cover – I just couldn’t put it down until I had finished. I became so absorbed in it that I was almost late for the school run….

My first thoughts on reading this book were how I wish I had a copy of it 6 years ago when I gave birth to my daughter! No-one can prepare you for your first baby. You just don’t know how much your life is going to change.  I remember feeling exhausted, emotional and filled with anxiety about whether or not I was doing everything right. I had no real friends with babies nearby and felt like I desperately needed reassurance that everything was ok.

This book is like picking up a collection of letters from a best friend. Someone who has been there and knows what you are going through. Someone who has been awake all night and slept with cabbage leaves in their bra. Someone who has not drank a hot cup of tea in a week and knows just how painful cracked nipples can be!

This is an honest collection of thoughts and feelings from mothers old and new, and a wonderful celebration of motherhood. I would recommend it to anyone that is expecting a baby or is a mother already. If I was pregnant this would be at the top of my wish list for a new baby gift.

All royalties from this book go to La Leche League GB which is a charity that provides mother to mother support with breastfeeding. They also provide encouragement, education and information to anyone who has an interest in breastfeeding.

If you wish to purchase a copy of this book and help this wonderful charity you can get 10% off by entering the code GREENMUMS10 when you order online here

Leave a Reply

