The day has arrived

4 Sep
One excited little boy

One excited little boy

 

I had so many plans for today.  I was going to drop my little one-off for his first day of school then come home and tackle the mess that is my house. Instead, I am sitting here sobbing and feeling sorry for myself.  I knew this day would come, it’s not as if it was a surprise but I just can’t seem to get my head around it.  Thomas has been my little companion in everything I do. He loves to help me in the garden and bake cakes but really he is happy to do anything as long as he is with me. He is a caring, happy little boy and when he walked through the school doors this morning I felt so proud to be his mummy.

I know that he will love school and he would quite happily have started 12 months ago if he was allowed. He will thrive in the school environment and I know that this is just the start of a really exciting journey for him. School is fun, interesting and social and will give him all the stimulation that he needs so why do I feel so crap?

The house is too quiet, there’s no-one here making a mess. There is no-one demanding snacks and drinks and stories. I keep expecting him to come down the stairs in his sister’s tutu and dress up shoes whilst wearing his snorkelling gear. I keep looking at the clock and counting down the hours till I go and collect him. Basically I don’t know what to do with myself. It’s gone too quickly, I’m just not ready for this next stage in our lives.

Sod the housework. I’m going to sit here and sob for a little while longer. Then I will put on my happy face and collect him from school, hopefully he will tell me about his day and I will wrap my arms around him and hug him tight.  I just can’t wait.

 

Thomas and his proud big sister

Thomas and his proud big sister

13 Responses to “The day has arrived”

  1. Erica Price September 4, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    I must admit I hate these early days of September. You get so used to having them around and then they are gone. It’s always worse the first time they go too.

    • greenmumsblog September 5, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      I agree, the holidays are tough with two to entertain but I love having them home

  2. Jaime Oliver September 4, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    awww honey, i am sending massive massive hugs!! how has his day gone?

    • greenmumsblog September 5, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      He did really well thank you, was very happy when I collected him

  3. Lesley Dixon September 4, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

    Hi Tracy Aahh, how sweet does he look and proud too. Have you stopped crying yet? It is the end of an era for you but I think you will get used to it eventually. Anyway, thank you for the pictures – they are just gorgeous. With lots of love to you all Lesley xx

    ________________________________

    • greenmumsblog September 5, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      Thank you Lesley, yes no tears for me this morning! x

  4. HelpfulMum September 4, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    What a gorgeous picture. My son started yesterday and I came home and sobbed too! I didn’t expect to be such an emotional wreck!

    • greenmumsblog September 5, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      Ah, I hope you are feeling better today? It’s tough isn’t it..

  5. Susan Mann (@susankmann) September 4, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    Bless, hope it went well x

    • greenmumsblog September 5, 2013 at 10:44 am #

      Thank you, he had a lovely time and was all smiles when I collected him. Feeling a bit better now!

  6. Sara (@mumturnedmom) September 4, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    What lovely photos! It’s tough isn’t it, but when you see how much they’ve enjoyed, it gets easier x

  7. Molly September 5, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Wonderful happy smiles

    Mollyxxx

Leave a Reply

